Akira Toriyama to Receive Anime Merit Award

akira toriyama and toshio furukawa receive anime merit award at tokyo animation award festival

The 8 winners of the TAAF Anime Merit Award. Akira Toriyama, second from top left. Toshio Furukawa, second from bottom right. Image Ⓒ TAAF

Dragon Ball author Akira Toriyama, and Dragon Ball voice actor of Piccolo, Toshio Furukawa, have been announced as winners of the Anime Merit Award at the upcoming 2024 Tokyo Animation Award Festival.

The “Animation Merit Category” honors those who have made a significant contribution to the development of the animation industry and culture. It is a form of lifetime achievement award in honor of a service or meritorious deed.

According to the TAAF’s website, Akira Toriyama is, “An original author who creates character dramas with unique charm.”

His artist’s photo depicts him wearing his signature face mask, track suit, and an added superhero cape.

akira toriyama receives anime merit award at tokyo animation award festival

And Toshio Furukawa is, “A voice actor with a versatile high baritone voice who has supported popular anime.”

toshio furukawa receives anime merit award at tokyo animation award festival

Akira Toriyama Attending?

Akira Toriyama and Toshio Furukawa will formally receive their award when TAAF 2024 is held from March 8 – 11, 2024, in Ikebukuro, Tokyo.

There will also be an exhibition related to the honorees at the TAAF venue.

However, given Toriyama’s avoidance of the public spotlight, I imagine he won’t attend in person. A representative will likely receive the award in his honor and give it to him later. Possibly Furukawa-san. It would be astounding if Toriyama attended.

It’s rare for Toriyama to win awards, and for most of Toriyama’s career, his editor, Kazuhiko Torishima, referred to him as the “Uncrowned Emperor.” Toriyama received high status in the manga and anime industry and was beloved by fans, yet left unpraised by critics.

How do you feel about Akira Toriyama and Toshio Furukawa receiving these awards?

My opinion? Long overdue!

Merit Award Winners:

Akira Toriyama (creator, Dragon Ball)

Shunzo Kato (producer, Akira)

Sukehiro Tomita (scriptwriter, Macross)

Ryōsuke Takahashi (director, Armored Trooper VOTOMS)

Shuichi Seki (animator, Persona 3 movie)

Yuji Ohno (composer, Lupin the Third)

Toshio Furukawa (voice actor, Dragon Ball)

Duplo System (developers in animation cel technology)